Six military scientists win HLHL Scientific and Technological Awards

Source:China Military Online Editor:Xu Yi 2020-11-16 17:36:59

BEIJING, Nov. 16 -- Hong Kong-based Ho Leung Ho Lee (HLHL) Foundation presented science and technology awards to 52 Chinese scientists in Beijing on November 3, 2020. Six of them comes from the military.

Besides respiratory disease expert Zhong Nanshan and archaeologist Fan Jinshi who got the achievement awards, there have been totally 30 scientists receiving the progress prizes and 20 the innovation prizes.

Among them, Lu Guangming from the General Hospital of the Chinese PLA Eastern Theater Command, Shen Feng from the Eastern Hepatobiliary Surgery Hospital affiliated with the Chinese PLA Naval Medical University, and Liu Zejin from the Science and Technology Commission under China’s Central Military Commission (CMC) received the Awards of Scientific and Technological Progress.

And for the Awards of Scientific and Technological Innovation, the prizes went to military talents including Chen Xiaoqian and Chang Chao from the National Defense S&T Innovation Institute with the Chinese PLA Academy of Military Sciences, and Lu Junyong from the PLA Naval University of Engineering.

Set up by Hong Kong patriotic financiers Ho Sin Hang, Leung Kau-Kui, Ho Tim, and Lee Quo-Wei in 1994to recognize Chinese scientists, the HLHL foundation has awarded 1,414 people over the past 26 years.

The prizes included an achievement prize, a progress prize and an innovation prize, which are awarded annually. The number of recipients of the achievement prize shall not exceed five, and each will be awarded the bonus of one million Hong Kong dollars. The total recipient number of the progress prize and the innovation prize shall not exceed 65, with a bonus of 200,000 Hong Kong dollars for each.

The 52 winners in 2020 are mainly from universities and research institutes. Among them, 47 are male and five are female. Their age ranges from 37 to 84, with an average of about 55.6 years. Scientists from Hainan Province and Macau won the awards for the first time during the past six years.